Power Plants

Mississippi Power has a generating fleet made up of both coal and natural gas power plants. This diversity is key to keeping energy costs stable. With hundreds of highly-skilled and safety-minded workers, we currently operate six power plants.

The key to meeting our growing energy demands is having a diverse portfolio of energy sources. Diversifying our resources allows us to deploy innovative ways to generate clean, reliable and cost-effective electricity, while avoiding an overreliance on one fuel source.

Mississippi Power continually considers a range of energy sources to balance energy supply with our growing customer demand, which is updated and presented for approval annually to the Mississippi Public Service Commission.

CCR Rule Compliance Data and Information
Electric Generating Plants Units Nameplate Capacity
Plant Daniel* (Jackson County)    
Gas-Fired Combined Cycle 2 1,070,424 kW
Coal-Fired Steam Turbines 2 500,000 kW
Plant Watson (Combustion Turbine)    
Gas-Fired Steam Turbines 2 750,000 kw
Gas-Fired Combustion Turbine 1 39,360 kW
Plant Ratcliffe (Kemper County)    
Gas-Fired Combined Cycle 1 769,898 kW
Greene County* (Alabama)    
Gas-Fired Steam Engines 2 200,000 kW
Chevron Cogenerating Plant (Jackson County)    
Gas-Fired Combustion Turbines 5 147,292 kW
Plant Sweatt (Lauderdale County)    
Gas-Fired Combustion Turbine 1 39,400 kW
Total all generating plants 16 3,516,374 kW